University of Minnesota
School of Physics & Astronomy
Hanany Research group
< >

Shaul Hanany’s observational cosmology group is flying balloon-borne instruments to search for signatures of the Big Bang. Cosmologists posit that as early as 10 -35 seconds after the Bang, the Universe underwent a period of immense inflation during which its size inflated many trillions fold.


Minnesota to play key role in planned neutrino experiment

Dune experiment icon

On Friday, July 21 the international neutrino research community will celebrate a ceremonial groundbreaking at the Sanford Underground Research Facility (SURF) in Lead SD. Scientists and political leaders will mark the beginning of construction of the Long Baseline Neutrino Facility (LBNF). More »

Vievering wins Doherty Award

Julie Vievering

Julie Vievering received the 201-2018 Sharon L. Doherty Award. The award honors University of Minnesota students who have demonstrated outstanding volunteer service concerning women's issues on campus or in the broader community. More »

Latest Zooniverse project searches for "baby" galaxies

Claudia Scarlata

Professor Claudia Scarlata is lead researcher on a new citizen science project that is asking volunteers to help them with web classifications of galaxy spectra to find "baby" galaxies that are giving birth to new stars.The project, named Galaxy Nurseries, marks the 100th project and 10-year anniversary of Zooniverse, the world’s largest and most popular people-powered research platform. More »

Fernandes selected as McKnight Presidential Fellow

Rafael Fernandes

Assistant Professor Rafael Fernandes has been named as a McKnight Presidential Fellow for his scholarly accomplishments. He will receive $15,000 to be used over the next three years for his research. More »

2017 Fellowship Winners

From Left to Right: Argha Banerjee, D'ann Barker, Peter Grul, Allison Kennedy, Kyle Greene, Evan Tyler, Yuting Wang, Samuel Ducatman and Mengxing Ye

Chun Chen and Caner Unal won the 2017 Aneesur Rahman Award. Hannah Rogers won the 2017 Robert E. Greiling Jr. Fellowship for her research in Cosmic Rays. Mengxing Ye won The 2017 Robert E. Greiling J. Fellowship for her research in condensed matter theory. More »


Tuesday, August 29th
3:35 pm:
To be announced —
Melanie Galloway, University of Minnesota
This is the public portion of Ms. Galloway's thesis defense.
Tuesday, September 5th
12:20 pm:
Space Physics Seminar in Tate 301-20
Nicole Vilmer, Paris Observatory - Meudon
Thursday, September 7th
12:05 pm:
Kazunori (Bish) Ishibashi, Nagoya U.
Friday, September 8th
12:30 pm:
Bharat Ratra (Kansas State U.)
3:35 pm:
Technology, religion, and postwar debates about the order of creation: how the history of science and religion has led us into error in analyzing technology and religion —
Dr. Jennifer Alexander, History of Science and Technology - University of Minnesota
Refreshments served at 3:15 p.m.
Monday, September 11th
12:15 pm:
Kelley Hess, Department of Astronomy, University of Cape Town
Tuesday, September 12th
12:20 pm:
Space Physics Seminar in Tate 301-20
Characterizing discrete power in solar flares and the magnetosphere using the AFINO algorithm. —
Andrew Inglis, NASA/Goddard
Wednesday, September 13th
1:25 pm:
Magnetoresistance oscillations and the half-flux quantum state in mesoscopic Sr2RuO4 —
Xinxin Cai
Thursday, September 14th
12:05 pm:
Terry Jones
3:35 pm:
Jeremy Mans, University of Minnesota
Subscribe to Physics Calendar RSS feed | Full Calendar »