University of Minnesota
School of Physics & Astronomy
Linday Glesener and Kendra Bergstedt
< >

Lindsay Glesener is a new faculty member in the School of Physics and Astronomy, studying high energy events in the Sun. Glesener uses x-rays to observe solar flares and coronal mass ejections. These events throw intense amounts of of plasma and radiation into space, causing the Earth’s aurorae and causing high radiation environments in Earth’s orbit, adversely affecting spacecraft. Glesener studies this topic from a fundamental physics perspective, trying to answer remaining questions about how these solar events are energized and the high-energy nature of the Sun.


Knauber wins Ovshinsky Award


Brenda Knauber, a physics Ph.D. candidate in Professor James Kakalios’s research group, has been selected for an Ovshinsky Student Travel Award to present her research at the 2019 March American Physical Society’s (APS) Meeting in Boston, Massachusetts. More »

Minnesota physicists receive grant to develop quantum computing

Vlad Pribiag

Professors Vlad Pribiag and Paul Crowell from the School of Physics and Astronomy are part of a group that will receive a $2.25 million grant from the U.S. Department of Energy to develop materials and device knowledge for creating quantum computing. More »

Skillman elected as APS Fellow


Professor Evan Skillman was elected a 2018 Fellow of the American Physical Society. He was cited for his contributions to "observational constraints on the primordial helium abundance and significant contributions to understanding the chemical evolution of galaxies." More »

Shklovskii awarded 2019 Buckley Prize


Professor Boris Shklovskii of the School of Physics and Astronomy and William I. Fine Theoretical Physics Institute was jointly awarded the Oliver E. Buckley Prize in Condensed Matter Physics. The prize recognizes his "pioneering research in the physics
of disordered materials and hopping conductivity.” More »

Chubukov Awarded Bardeen Prize

Andrey Chubukov

FTPI Professor Andrey Chubukov was a winner of the 2018 John Bardeen Prize for his "seminal contributions to the theory of unconventional superconductivity, including applications to the iron-based superconductors." The prize was given at the International Conference on the Materials and Mechanisms of Superconductivity. More »


Monday, February 25th
12:15 pm:
2:20 pm:
Expanding the Science Reach of Dark Matter Detection with the LZ Experiment —
Dr. Christina Ignarra (SLAC)
Tuesday, February 26th
1:25 pm:
Space Physics Seminar in Tate 301-20
1. Overview of Arase and highlights from the prime mission. 2. Highlights from plasma wave observation by Arase —
Y. Miyoshi (Nagoya University, Project Scientist of ERG/Arase mission) and Y. Kasahara (Kanazawa University)
4:00 pm:
Machine Learning and Citizen Science at Zooniverse —
Derryl Wright
Wednesday, February 27th
1:25 pm:
Hierarchy of Information Scrambling, Thermalization, and Hydrodynamic Flow in Graphene —
Joerg Schmalian, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology
3:30 pm:
Search for dark matter and rare decays of the Higgs boson with the CMS detector —
Dr. Adish Vartak (CERN)
Thursday, February 28th
10:10 am:
Biophysics Seminar in 120 PAN
Using Model Systems to Drive Methods Development – The Tale of a Viral RNA —
Paul Jardine, Associate Professor, Department of Diagnostic and Biological Sciences, UMN
12:10 pm:
Roberta Humphreys and Avery Garon
3:35 pm:
Physics and Astronomy Colloquium in Physics Tate B50
Failed Theories of Superconductivity —
Joerg Schmalian, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology
Friday, March 1st
11:00 am:
Nuclear Physics Seminar in Tate 301-20
There will be no seminar this week.
Subscribe to Physics Calendar RSS feed | Full Calendar »