University of Minnesota
School of Physics & Astronomy
Home > About > News >

General News

Page: 1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  21  22  23  24  25  26  27  28  29  30  31  32  33  34  35  36  37  38  39  40  41  42  43  44  45  46  47  48  49  50  51  52  53  54  55  56  57 
Scholarship winners 2012

2012 Undergraduate Scholarships

The 2012 Undergraduate Scholarship recipients are as follows: Robin Heinonen, Alfred O.C. Nier Scholarsip; Noah Rebesch, Harry and Viola St. Cyr Scholarship; Andrew Emerick, J. Morris Blair Scholarship; Chelsey Dorow, Jeffrey Basford Scholarship; Charles Brown, Erwin Marquit and Doris Grieser Marquit Undergraduate Scholarship; Mitchell Ambrose, Brandon Bergerud, Anthony Kremin, Jonathan Morris, Joseph Redford and Nicholas Smith received the Edmond G. Franklin Scholarship; Jimmy Chen, Grant Remmen, Hagstrum Award.

Eric Kaler and Marvin Marshak

Kaler and others open NOvA far-detector facility in Northern Minnesota

On April 27, more than 250 people attended a ribbon-cutting ceremony at the NOvA far detector facility near the Ash River in northern Minnesota. On hand were Eric Kaler, President of the University of Minnesota, Pier Oddone, Director of Fermilab, Mos Kaveh, Associate Dean of the College of Science and Engineering at the University of Minnesota and Marvin L. Marshak, Director of the NOvA Ash River Laboratory. The 45 million dollar facility will be home to The NOvA far detector, which when complete, will be the largest plastic structure in the world. More »

Mildred Dresselhaus holds model of carbon nanotube

Lecture highlights how nanomaterials can meet global energy needs

Global energy needs are a major concern for our future. World-renowned MIT Professor Mildred Dresselhaus offers hope for the world energy outlook in her lecture “The Promise of Nanomaterials for Thermoelectric Applications” at 5 p.m. Thursday, April 26 at the Tate Laboratory of Physics, Room 150, The lecture is part of the annual Van Vleck Lecture Series. The lecture is free and open to the public. It will also be streamed live. More »

Allen Goldman

Goldman wins Graduate Education Award

Professor Allen Goldman of the School of Physics and Astronomy has won a 2012 Awards for Outstanding Contributions to Postbaccalaureate, Graduate and Professional Education. As part of this award Goldman was admitted to the Academy of Distinguished Teachers.

Serge Rudaz

Rudaz wins Horace T. Morse Award

Professor Serge Rudaz of the School of Physics and Astronomy won the Horace T. Morse-University of Minnesota Alumni Award for Outstanding Contributions to Undergraduate Education. Rudaz will also be inducted into the Academy of Distinguished Teachers as part of the award.

Grant Remmen

Remmen receives Hertz Fellowship Award

The Fannie and John Hertz Foundation announced today that University of Minnesota Honors Program student Grant Remmen has been awarded a prestigious Hertz Fellowship to support his future graduate studies. Considered to be the nation’s most prestigious and generous support for graduate education in applied sciences and engineering, the Hertz Fellowship is valued at more than $250,000 per student, with support lasting up to five years. More »


Gehrz and Woodward part of team that finds "solid bucky balls" in space

University of Minnesota College of Science and Engineering astronomers Robert Gehrz and Charles Woodward are part of an international team that have, for the first time, discovered buckyballs in a solid form in space. The discovery of these carbon molecules in space may provide clues about the origins of the Universe and if life could exist on other planets. More »

Tate Lab of Physics

APS Names Tate Lab a Site of Historic Significance

Tate Laboratory of Physics has been selected by the American Physical Society (APS) as a historically significant site for physics. This designation honors the pioneering work of the late Regents Professor Alfred O.C. Nier and his colleagues in the development and application of mass spectrometry, including the first-ever separation of the Uranium-235 isotope. More »

Fred Orsted

Physics Force plays to thousands

The Physics Force performed a series of shows at the Minneapolis Convention Center for more than 21,000 people. The bulk of the audience were elementary school children bused in for the shows. There was an evening show open to the general public attended by about 3,000 people.

Mike Brown

Mike Brown to deliver Kaufmanis Lecture

Mike Brown, astronomer from the California Institute of Technology will deliver the Kaufmanis Public Lecture on the topic of "How I Killed Pluto and Why it Had it Coming" The lecture will take place at 7:30 p.m. on Thursday, April 12 in Room 150 Tate Lab. More »

News RSS Feed