University of Minnesota
School of Physics & Astronomy

Grad Scholarship

The Aneesur Rahman Award


A $1,000 prize for advanced graduate students for outstanding research contributions.

Page: 1  2  3 

Shaffer receives 2019 Rahman Award

Daniel Shaffer received 2019 Aneesur Rahman Award.

Evan Moen

Moen receives 2019 Rahman Award

Evan Moen received the 2019 Aneesur Rahman Award.

Timothy Peterson

Peterson wins 2018 Rahman Award

Tim Peterson won the 2018 Aneesur Rahman Award. Peterson is originally from Richfield, MN. He received my undergraduate degree from Bethel University in Arden Hills, MN. Peterson used the award to buy a new bicycle to use for commuting. His research at the University focused on Condensed Matter Experiment, specifically on the study of novel magnetic materials for next-generation spintronic device performance. He graduated in April 2018 and has begun as a Scientist at Honeywell Aerospace in Plymouth, MN.

Arora wins 2018 Jones Scholarship

Arpit Arora won the 2018 Laverne and Ted Jones Scholarship in Astrophysics.

Ming Li

Li wins 2018 Rahman Award

Ming Li won the 2018 Aneesur Rahman Award. His area of study is ultra-relativistic heavy-ion collisions and physics of high baryon density. He originally comes from China. He plans to use the award money for workshops/conferences.

Li He

He wins 2018 Rahman Award

Li He won the 2018 Aneesur Rahman Award.

Caner Unal

Unal wins the Aneesur Rahman Award

Caner Unal won the 2017 Aneesur Rahman Award. He is originally from Turkey. Unal's research is in theoretical cosmology and particle physics with emphasis on the early universe.

Chun Chen

Chen wins 2017 Rahman Award

Chun Chen won the 2017 Aneesur Rahman Award. He is originally from Shanghai, China. He plans to spend the award money to attend academic conferences and workshops. His research expertise is on condensed matter theory, in particular, the interaction effects on low-dimensional topological superconducting systems and more recently, the critical phenomena of many-body localization phase transition.

Tao Qu

Qu wins 2016 Rahman Award

Tao Qu won the 2016 Aneesur Rahman Award.

Tobias Gulden

Gulden wins 2016 Rahman Award

Tobias Gulden won the 2016 Aneesur Rahman Award.

Student Award RSS Feed