University of Minnesota
School of Physics & Astronomy

Grad Scholarship

The Dr. Leonard F. Burlaga/Arctowski Medal Fellowship Gift


The Dr. Leonard F. Burlaga/Arctowski Medal Fellowship Gift is equivalent to a 50%-time Graduate Assistantship during the summer. The fellowship will be awarded to a full-time graduate students in good standing with exceptional potential in their field enrolled in the School of Physics and Astronomy working toward a graduate degree and associated with the Space Physics Group.
Give to this fellowship |

Jessie Duncan

Duncan receives 2019 Burlaga Fellowship

Jessie Duncan received the 2019 Leonard F. Burlaga/Arctowski Medal Fellowship. Duncan is originally from Charlotte, North Carolina. With the support of the Burlaga fellowship, she will spend this summer continuing her analysis of data from an observation of the sun by the NuSTAR telescope. She works on both data analysis and detector development for high energy x-ray observation of the sun.

Aaron West

West receives 2019 Burlaga Fellowship

Aaron West received the 2019 Leonard F. Burlaga/Arctowski Medal Fellowship. He grew up in Edmonds, WA and has a B.S. in Comprehensive Physics from the Univ. of WA. The Fellowship will support his research for summer 2019, establishing a model for plasma waves in Earth's magnetosphere. His research focuses on the intricacies of wave propagation and interaction with other waves, particles, and the earth's atmosphere. The goal is to refine predictive technologies to make space travel safer and help ground-based facilities withstand magnetic fluctuations caused by solar activity.

Evan Tyler

Tyler wins 2017 Burlaga Fellowship

Evan Tyler won the 2017 Leonard F. Burlaga/Arctowski Medal Fellowship. Tyler moved around a lot growing up: North Carolina, New Mexico, Germany, and Virginia. He plans to use the fellowship to attend the Geospace Environment Modeling (GEM) conference and the Solar Heliospheric & INterplanetary Environment (SHINE) conference in order to present two of his research projects. Tyler will also be working on preparing this research during the Summer, as well as continuing his work as the Outreach Coordinator for MIfA. More »

Sheng Tian

Tian wins 2016 Burlaga Fellowship

Sheng Tian wins the 2016 Dr. Leonard F. Burlaga/Arctowski Medal Fellowship.

Charles McEachern

2015 Charles McEachern

Charles McEachern won the 2015 Dr. Leonard F. Burlaga/Arctowski Medal Fellowship.

2011 Kristopher Kersten

Kristopher Kersten won the 2011 Leonard F. Burlaga Fellowship


2014 Xiangwei Tang

Xiangwei won the Burlaga Award.

Xiangwei Tang

2013 Xiangwei Tang

Xiangwei Tang is originally from China. Her research focuses on observations of magnetic field reconnection at the Earth's dayside magnetopause and the associated plasma waves using data from Polar, Cluster and THEMIS satellites. Her advisor is Cynthia Cattell. Xiangwei plans to use the award money to fund a statistical study of the roles of waves in magnetopause reconnection using THEMIS data this summer.

Lynn Wilson.jpg

2010 Lynn Wilson

Lynn Wilson won the Dr. Leonard F. Bulaga/Arctowski Medal Fellowship. Originally from Grand Rapids, Minnesota, his main research interest is energy dissipation mechanisms in collisionless shock waves. He plans to use his scholarship funds to pay for his RA position over the summer term of 2010.

Student Award RSS Feed