University of Minnesota
School of Physics & Astronomy
Home > About > News > News >

General News

Kakalios video nominated for Webby

James Kakalios
Alex Schumann

The University of Minnesota’s popular online video, “Science of Watchmen,” featuring physics professor James Kakalios has been nominated for “Best Video” in the Variety category of the in the 14th Annual Webby Awards.

Hailed as the "Internet's highest honor" by the New York Times, The Webby Awards is the leading international award honoring excellence on the Internet.

As a nominee, the University of Minnesota is eligible to win a Webby People's Voice Award, which is voted online by the global Web community. From now until April 29, fans can cast their vote for Kakalios and the U of M in The Webby People's Voice Awards by going to the University's facebook page and clicking out the "Vote for the U" tab, or by visiting

“Science of Watchmen” debuted in February of 2009 in anticipation of the summer comic book blockbuster “Watchmen” and has garnered nearly 2 million online views on YouTube, making it one of the most-watched online videos in higher education. Kakalios, author of the best-selling “The Physics of Superheroes,” was tapped by Warner Bros. to serve as an on-set science consultant for “Watchmen,” which grossed over $185 million worldwide during the summer of 2009.

In the video, Kakalios explains how real-life physics concepts can be used to explain the super powers of the film’s comic book heroes. The full video can be viewed here.

"Nominees like ‘Science of Watchmen’ are setting the standard for innovation and creativity on the Internet," said David-Michel Davies, executive director of the Webby Awards. "It is an incredible achievement to be selected among the best from the nearly 10,000 entries we received this year."

Other nominees in the Variety video category include entries from the New York Times (featuring video interviews with actors such as Tom Cruise and Will Ferrell) and an off-beat television recap show from

Winners will be announced on May 4, 2010 and honored at a star-studded ceremony in New York City on June 14 where they will have an opportunity to deliver one of The Webby Awards’ famous five-word speeches. Past Webby Award winners -- and their speeches -- include Al Gore ("Please don't recount this vote."), Stephen Colbert ("Me. Me. Me. Me. Me.") and Michel Gondry ("Keyboards are full of germs.").

The Webby Awards is presented by the International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences, a 650-person judging academy whose members include Internet co-inventor Vinton Cerf, R/GA's Chief Bob Greenberg, "Simpson's" creator Matt Groening, Arianna Huffington and Harvey Weinstein.

More information at