University of Minnesota
School of Physics & Astronomy
Home > About > News > News >

General News

Goldman Receives London Prize


Professor Allen Goldman of the School of Physics and Astronomy received the prestigious Fritz London Memorial Prize, the highest award in the field of low-temperature physics.

Goldman accepted the Prize at a ceremony at the Twenty-third Conference on Low Temperature Physics in Hiroshima, Japan, on August 21.

The London Prize is given once every three years and is intended to recognize outstanding experimental and theoretical contributions to low temperature physics. Goldman is cited "for his contribution to the physics of superconductors, particularly the discovery of the gapless collective modes, and for his inventive work on superconductor-insulator transitions in ultrathin films."

Goldman will share the Prize with Russell Donnelly (University of Oregon) who was cited for his contributions in low temperature fluid dynamics and Walter N. Hardy (University of British Columbia) who was cited for his contributions in atomic and solid hydrogens and high temperature superconductivity.

Goldman will become the second School of Physics and Astronomy faculty member to receive the London Memorial Prize, the first being Professor Anatoly Larkin in 1990. The School is the first with two London Prize recipients who did not work collaboratively.

Goldman's research was funded by the National Science Foundation and completed entirely at the University of Minnesota. Goldman acknowledged the importance that graduate students at Minnesota played in all stages of the research, specifically the contributions of J. Anderson, F. Aspen, R. Carlson, C. Christiansen, H. Jaeger, D. Haviland, Y. Liu, N. Markovic, and B. Orr.