University of Minnesota
School of Physics & Astronomy
Home > About > News > News >

General News

Goldman named Regents Professor

Allen Goldman
Allen Goldman

Allen Goldman, Department Head, has been named a University Regents Professor.

The Regents Professor position was established in 1965 by the Board of Regents to recognize the national and international prominence of faculty members. It serves as the highest recognition for faculty who have made unique contributions to the quality of the University of Minnesota through exceptional accomplishments in teaching, research and scholarship or creative work, and contributions to the public good.

Allen Goldman joined the faculty of the School of Physics and Astronomy in 1965. In a research career spanning over 40 years at the University of Minnesota, he has made numerous pioneering contributions in the field of superconductivity and is widely recognized as one of the world’s leading experts on superconductivity in thin films. In the 1970’s, Goldman discovered the existence of gapless order-parameter collective modes, now known as Carlson-Goldman modes, in superconducting films. In the mid 1980’s, Goldman and his group developed a new means for preparing extremely thin quench-condensed superconducting films, and his subsequent research has led to a profound understanding of the onset of superconductivity at zero temperature. His demonstration that superconductor-insulator transition in thin films has universal properties has made it one of the canonical examples of a quantum phase transition. Goldman has also advanced the materials physics of superconductivity by perfecting new techniques for the growth of high-temperature superconductors by molecular beam epitaxy.

During his career at the University of Minnesota, Goldman has mentored over 50 graduate students and 15 postdoctoral associates. He was appointed Professor of Physics in 1975 and Institute of Technology Distinguished Professor in 1992. Among other honors, Goldman is a fellow of the American Association for Advancement of Science and the American Physical Society. In recognition of his research on superconducting thin films, he was awarded the Fritz London Memorial Prize in 2002, and he was elected to the National Academy of Sciences in 2007. In addition to his service as Head of the School of Physics and Astronomy since 1996, Goldman is the current chair of the Division of Condensed Matter Physics of the American Physical Society.