University of Minnesota
School of Physics & Astronomy
Home > About > News > News >

General News

Kakalios receives Taylor Professorship


James Kakalios has been named one of four Institute of Technology Taylor Distinguished Professors. This is a three year appointment to work as a team of key advisors on matters related to improving undergraduate education within the college.

The four Taylor Distinguished Professors, together with Paul Strykowski, the Institute of Technology associate dean for undergraduate programs, will form the Taylor Committee. The committee will deliberate and make recommendations on matters of strategic importance to the undergraduate vitality of the college. The first charge of the Taylor Committee will be to explore the benefits of establishing a required freshman experience for all incoming Institute of Technology students, with the primary goal of increasing student retention and graduation rates.

The Mr. and Mrs. George W. Taylor Professorship Fund was created by the Taylor Family in the spirit of improving the undergraduate experience in the Institute of Technology. George W. Taylor was a 1934 mechanical engineering graduate of the University of Minnesota. The Taylor family supports numerous awards and initiatives related to undergraduate education within the Institute of Technology.

More information at