University of Minnesota
School of Physics & Astronomy
Home > About > News > News >

General News

Kakalios video wins regional Emmy award

Alex Schumann

The University News Service video "The Science of Watchmen" featuring Professor James Kakalios, which has received more than 1.5 million views on YouTube, received a regional Emmy Award in the "Advanced Media: Arts/Entertainment" category.

Kakalios was tapped by Warner Bros. as a science consultant for the popular comic book movie, “Watchmen.” “The Science of Watchmen” looks at his involvement with the film and the physics behind its extraordinary characters. The video enjoyed enormous success, garnering over 1.5 million views on YouTube, making it one of the most widely viewed videos ever in higher education.

"If anyone had asked me back in grad school if I could imagine winning an Emmy for a YouTube video -- I would have answered, 'what's a YouTube?'” said Kakalios. "This award is a testament to the University News Service who conceived and created the video."

Recognized by his colleagues for his research in condensed matter physics, most students know Kakalios for his popular freshman seminar “Everything I Know About Physics I Learned By Reading Comic Books.” A professor in the Institute of Technology’s School of Astronomy and Physics since 1988, he is also the author of the science book “The Physics of Superheroes.”

The video was produced by the University News Service team, under Elizabeth Giorgi, managing editor, and was nominated by the Midwest chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences. The nominated clip can be viewed here. Award winners from the News Service include, Daniel Wolter, Justin Ware, Elizabeth Giorgi and Drew Swain.

The Upper Midwest Emmys is an awards event celebrating regional excellence in television production. The Emmy Awards are put on by the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (NATAS) and recognize a variety of categories including news, sports and documentary programming, as well as individual talent. The Upper Midwest region includes Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota, western Wisconsin and most of Iowa.

More information at