University of Minnesota
School of Physics & Astronomy
Home > About > News > News >

General News

Remmen named Goldwater Scholar

Grant Remmen
Grant Remmen
Alex Schumann

Undergraduate physics major Grant Remmen has been named a 2010 Goldwater Scholar. Remmen is an honor student pursuing degrees in astrophysics, physics and mathematics.

Remmen is originally from Detroit Lakes, MN. He plans to pursue a Ph.D. in astrophysics and conduct research in theoretical and/or experimental astrophysics, quantum physics, and galactic dynamics. Under the mentorship of Professor Robert Gehrz, Remmen is currently investigating the effect on event horizon shape caused by velocity of a black hole relative to the Cosmic Background Microwave Radiation. During Freshman year, he completed a new assessment of dark matter distribution in the Milky Way Galaxy with Professor Thomas Walsh. Remmen is a Presidential Scholar, a National Merit Scholar, a Robert C. Byrd Honors Scholar, and a Bentson Scholar.

Remmen says that he pursued his studies at the University of Minnesota "because of the fantastic opportunities available to undergraduates to engage in research."

When asked what sparked his interest in physics, Remmen said, "All of my life, I have felt a calling and drive to investigate and discover. My goal is to become a professional astrophysicist and to perform groundbreaking and fundamental research. Through the study of astrophysics and physics, one can understand the workings of the universe, from the motion of galaxies to the interaction of subatomic particles. My choice to major in astrophysics, physics, and mathematics was motivated by this curiosity about the universe. The additional physics background augments and deepens my astrophysical knowledge, while the mathematics major provides me with powerful calculative and analytical tools for use in astrophysics."

The Goldwater Scholarship was established by congress in 1986 for the purpose of providing the nation with a source of qualified scientists, engineers and mathematicians. It is awarded to about 300 college sophomores and juniors nationwide. A maximum of $7500 per academic year is granted. The scholarship is awarded based on merit, and the actual amount given is based on financial need. Competition for the Scholarship is exceptionally intense. Universities are allowed to nominate only four undergraduate students per year to receive the final Scholarship. As a result, the Scholarship is widely considered the most prestigious award in the U.S. conferred upon undergraduates studying the sciences.