University of Minnesota
School of Physics & Astronomy
Home > About > News >

General News

Page: 1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  21  22  23  24  25  26  27  28  29  30  31  32  33  34  35  36  37  38  39  40  41  42  43  44  45  46  47  48  49  50  51  52  53  54  55  56  57 

Goldman Chair-elect of AAAS Physics Section and appointed to BESAC

Professor Allen Goldman has been made Chair-elect of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) Physics Section. He has also been appointed to the Department of Energy's Basic Energy Science Advisory Committee(BESAC).


Physics student awarded medal for research

At its 217th semi-annual meeting held in Seattle this January, the American Astronomical Society (AAS) named Grant Remmen, a student in the University Honors Program and a triple major in astrophysics, physics, and mathematics, as a recipient of the Chambliss Astronomy Achievement Student Award. More »

Professor Anton Zeilinger

Anton Zeilinger to deliver Van Vleck Lecture

Anton Zeilinger, a pioneer in the field of Quantum Information will deliver the 35th John and Abigail Van Vleck Lecture. He will speak on the topic of "Quantum Games, Quantum Information, and the Foundations of Quantum Mechanics" on Thursday March 10th at 5:00 p.m. in Room 150, Tate Laboratory of Physics. More »


REU now accepting applications

[|Applications] are now being accepted for the 2011 Research Experience for Undergraduate (REU) Program. The deadline is February 11, 2011. The 2011 REU program will run from Monday, June 6, 2011 to Friday, August 12, 2011.


Physics Force at the Convention Center

The Physics Force will present their annual Physics Circus for area school children. The performances will be held at The Minneapolis Convention Center on February 7 - 11, 2011. The Physics Force will also perform The Physics Circus on Thursday, February 10 at 7 PM for other students and the public; it is free. More »


Cattell Named APS Fellow

Professor Cynthia Cattell of the School of Physics and Astronomy was selected as a Fellow of the American Physical Society (APS). Cattell was nominated by the APS Topical Group in Plasma Astrophysics with the citation "For measurements of solitary waves and electric fields in the Earth's radiation belts and for observation and interpretation of the very large amplitude whistler mode waves that provide a new mechanism for accelerating trapped electrons to relativistic energies in a fraction of a second. More »


Janssen Named APS Fellow

Professor Michel Janssen of the School of Physics and Astronomy and the Program in the History of Science, Technology, and Medicine has been named a Fellow of the American Physical Society (APS). Janssen's Fellowship was recommended by the APS Forum on the History of Physics, with the citation "For path-breaking contributions to the history of early twentieth-century physics, for excellent editorial work on Einstein papers, and for promoting substantive interactions between physicists and historians. More »

Professor Al Nier in 1940 with his mass spectrometer

Nier inducted into MST Hall of Fame

On November 3, 2010 the late Professor Alfred O. C. Nier was inducted into the Minnesota Science and Technology Hall of Fame. Nier was honored for his development and application of mass spectrometry, which most famously included isolating the first pure sample of the fissionable isotope Uranium-235 in Tate Lab in 1940. A St. Paul native, Nier was a University of Minnesota alumnus (Ph.D., Physics - 1936), a faculty member for more than forty years, and physics chair from 1953 until 1965. More »

Lead-lead collisions at CMS

Heavy ion research begins at CMS

The Compact Muon Solenoid CMS experiment at CERN’s Large Hadron Collider (LHC) has recorded its first Lead-Lead collisions at a centre-of-mass energy of 2.76 TeV per nucleon pair, marking the start of its heavy ion research programme. Physicists around the world expect a wealth of new results and phenomena from these collisions, which occur at energies 14 times higher than previously achieved by the Relativistic Heavy Ion Collider (RHIC, Brookhaven, USA). More »

Matthew Coudron, the Astronaut Scholarship recipient, with shuttle astronaut Captain Daniel Brandenstein.

Physics student wins Astronaut Scholarship

Matthew Coudron, a physics and mathematics major received a $10,000 Astronaut Scholarship. He received the scholarship from Space shuttle astronaut Capt. Daniel Brandenstein, who has flown four shuttle missions, logged more than 780 hours in space and commanded the maiden voyage of Endeavour. More »

News RSS Feed