University of Minnesota
School of Physics & Astronomy
Home > About > News >

General News

Page: 1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  21  22  23  24  25  26  27  28  29  30  31  32  33  34  35  36  37  38  39  40  41  42  43  44  45  46  47  48  49  50  51  52  53  54  55  56  57 
Rafael Fernandes

Fernandes selected as McKnight Presidential Fellow

Assistant Professor Rafael Fernandes has been named as a McKnight Presidential Fellow for his scholarly accomplishments. He will receive $15,000 to be used over the next three years for his research. More »

From Left to Right: Argha Banerjee, D'ann Barker, Peter Grul, Allison Kennedy, Kyle Greene, Evan Tyler, Yuting Wang, Samuel Ducatman and Mengxing Ye

2017 Fellowship Winners

Chun Chen and Caner Unal won the 2017 Aneesur Rahman Award. Hannah Rogers won the 2017 Robert E. Greiling Jr. Fellowship for her research in Cosmic Rays. Mengxing Ye won The 2017 Robert E. Greiling J. Fellowship for her research in condensed matter theory. More »

From L. to R. Ryan Schmitz, Ryan Vogt, Ryan Quinn, Aaron Hamann, Alex Igl, Molly Andersen, Aaron Breidenbach, Elena Hafner, Lukas Wiedman, Jesse Grindstaff, Vikram Nagarajan, Adam Hines, Irene Moskowitz, Pedro Angulo-Umana, Kendra Bergstedt, Chiou Ya

2017 Scholarship Winners

The 2017 Undergraduate Scholarships were distributed at the last colloquium of the semester. Arora Arpit and Adam Hines received the Laverne and Ted Jones Scholarship for Undergraduate Astrophysics. Irene Moskowitz, Katherine Chworowsky, and Alex Igl received the 2017 Hazel Swanson Scholarship for Undergraduate Astrophysics.
More »

Vlad Pribiag

Pribiag receives young scientist prize

Professor Vlad Pribiag was named as a recipient of the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics Young scientist prize in Low Temperature Physics for 2017. He will be presented with the prize at the International Low Temperature Physics Conference in Gothenburg Sweden this August. More »

Arthur B. McDonald

Nobel Laureate McDonald to give Van Vleck Lecture

2015 Nobel Prize winner, Arthur B. McDonald will give the 40th Van Vleck public lecture "A Deeper Understanding of the Universe from 1.4 miles Underground" at 7:00 p.m. on Thursday, April 20 in Ted Mann Concert Hall. He will also give the School of Physics and Astronomy Colloquium "Neutrino and Dark Matter Experiments at SNOLAB" at 3:35 p.m. on Wednesday, April 19 in Moos 2-650. Both events are free and open to the public. More »

3M visit

Physics students visit 3M

Seventeen graduate and undergraduate physics students visited the 3M corporate campus this spring. Trip co-organizer Professor Shaul Hanany says that the students visited the 3M Innovation Center and toured four research labs. More »

Kenneth Heller

Heller to be awarded Millikan Medal

Professor Kenneth Heller will receive the 2017 Millikan Medal from the American Association of Physics Teachers (AAPT). The medal recognizes "those who have made notable and intellectually creative contributions to the teaching of physics." More »

Lucy Fortson

New Zooniverse Project: Muon Hunter

A new citizen science project, led by Associate Professor Lucy Fortson, is asking for help from the public to identify and categorize hundreds of thousands of ring patterns within images produced by VERITAS gamma-ray observatory cameras. More »

Vuk Mandic

Mandic to receive Taylor Award for research

Professor Vuk Mandic will receive the 2017 Taylor Award for Distinguished Research. Mandic studies the earliest stages of the universe at the highest energy scales. He is a member of two collaborations: LIGO which recently confirmed the existence of gravitational waves and CDMS which is searching for Dark Matter. More »

Fernandes Update 2015.jpg

Fernandes to receive Taylor teaching award

Assistant Professor Rafael Fernandes will receive the 2017 George W. Taylor Career Development Award. The award recognizes exceptional contributions to teaching by a candidate for tenure. More »

News RSS Feed