University of Minnesota
School of Physics & Astronomy
Home > About > News >

Student Award

Page: 1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  21  22  23  24  25  26  27  28  29  30  31 
Masaya Nishioka

2008 Masaya Nishioka

Masaya Nishioka wont the Aneesur Rahman Award. He is a student in experimental condensed matter physics. Masaya is studying the transport properties on carbon-based devices, especially organic field effect transistors and graphene spin valves. He plans to use the award to help with expenses after graduation. He is originally from Japan.

Shun Wang

2007 Shun Wang

shun Wang won the Hoff Lu Fellowship. His research area of interest is condensed matter physics experiment and is doing research on liquid crystals. He used the money from the Hoff Lu Fellowship to cover his tuition and payment for the summer. Wang is originally from China.

2007 Roman M. Lutchyn

Roman Lutchyn won the Anatoly Larkin Fellowship. He is a theoretical physicist whose research interests is in the area of quantum condensed matter physics. In the past three years he has been working on the problems in mesoscopic superconductivity with possible application to solid state quantum information devices. He studies the fundamental limitations on the coherence time in superconducting quantum bits. Lutchyn recently moved to the University of Maryland to work as a postdoctoral research fellow.

Romand and Tao

2007 Tao Hu

Tao Hu won the Anatoly Larkin Fellowship. His primary area of research is condensed matter theory, which he studies under Professor Boris Shklovskii at the Fine Theoretical Physics Institute. He is originally from China.

Bob Pepin and Jolene Johnson

2007 Jolene L. Johnson

Johnson works in Professor Jochen Mueller's Biological Physics laboratory. Her research specialty is designing and building microfluidic devices. The work combines flourescence with spectroscopy. Eventually the group plans to use the samples to study how HIV assembles.

2007 Yeonbae Lee

Yeonbae Lee won the Hagstrum Award. Yeonbae is a teaching assistant at the School of Physics and Astrnomy.


2007 Elizabeth A. Barnes

Elizath Barnes' research interests are in atmospheric dynamics and climate modeling. She is currently doing research in the UK with the Dept. of Meteorology at the University of Reading. She will begin graduate school with the Dept. of Atmospheric Sciences at the U of Washington in the fall. Elizabeth is originally from Hugo, Minnesota

2007 Bradley M. Froehle

Froehle's research interests is in condensed matter experiment. He worked with Prof. Dahlberg. He'll be using the money to help fund his graduate studies (in Mathematics) at the University of California - Berkeley.

2007 Vanessa Cheesbrough

Vanessa Cheesbrough was the 2007 recipient of the St. Cyr Scholarship. She is still undecided on a focus for her research, but would prefer to pursue experimental physics. She has been been interested in galactic structure and evolution, but her work in Professor Shaul Hanany's observational cosmology lab has sparked her interest in this area as well. Cheesbrough is originally from Brookings, South Dakota.

David Christle

2007 David J. Christle

David's research interests are spin dynamics, artificial spin ice, geometrically frustrated systems, micromagnetics, and exchange-bias. He plans to use his physics degree to attend graduate school in pursuit of a doctoral degree in condensed matter physics. He is originally from St. Cloud, Minnesota.

Student Award RSS Feed