University of Minnesota
School of Physics & Astronomy

Undergrad Scholarship

Jeffery Basford Scholarship


Endowed by Dr. Basford, a Ph.D. alumnus of the School and a physician at the Mayo Clinic who has done research in central neurological rehabilitation and the physiological effects of physical agents like electromagnetic fields
Give to this scholarship |

Page: 1  2 
Ryan Quinn

Quinn wins 2018 Basford Scholarship

Ryan Quinn won the 2018 Jeffrey Basford Scholarship in Physics.

Andrea Walker

Walker wins 2018 Basford Scholarship

Andrea Walker won the 2018 Jeffrey Basford Scholarship in Physics.

Aaron Breidenbach

Breidenbach wins the 2017 Basford Scholarship

Aaron Breidenbach won the 2017 Jeffrey Basford Scholarship.

Ryan Vogt

Vogt wins 2017 Basford Scholarship

Ryan Vogt won the 2017 Jeffrey Basford Scholarship. He is originally from Mukilteo, WA, which is located about 40 minutes north of Seattle. He came to the University of Minnesota because of its strong math and physics programs, the impressive Honors Program, and the truly personalized and friendly experience he had when being recruited to consider the U. More »

Jacob Freyermuth

Freyermuth wins 2016 Basford Scholarship

Jacob Freyermuth won the 2016 Jeffrey Basford Scholarship in Physics.

Ryan Schmitz

Schmitz wins 2016 Basford Scholarship

Ryan Schmitz won the 2016 Jeffrey Basford Scholarship in Physics.

David Bosch

2015 David Bosch

David Bosch won the 2015 Jeffrey Basford Award. He will be studying spin transport in ferromagnetic and semiconducting materials under my research adviser Paul Crowell.David plans to use the monetary part of his award to help pay for tuition expenses. He is originally from Maple Grove, Minnesota.


2014 Timothy Gburek

Timothy won the Jeffrey Basford Scholarship. He works with Professor Gehrz on the Spitzer Infrared Intensive Transients Survey (SPIRITS), a project that uses the NASA Spitzer Space Telescope to obtain multi-epoch infrared images of over 150 galaxies in search of explosive transients and eruptive variables. Timothy performs data reduction of supplemental infrared imaging data taken at the UMN's Mt. Lemmon Observing Facility (MLOF). These images give additional data at wavelengths not seen by Spitzer. Timothy will use his award to help pay tuition. He is originally from Oswego, IL.


2013 Michael Veidt

Michael Veit won the Jeffrey Basford Scholarship

2013 Max Veit

Max Veit is originally from Hamburg, Germany. He has studied computational molecular dynamics with Professor Luskin in the mathematics department. He is looking to start research with Professor Vinals on models of stochastic systems arising in molecular and cellular biophysics. Max plans to use the monetary award to pay for rising tuition costs.

Student Award RSS Feed