University of Minnesota
School of Physics & Astronomy

Undergrad Scholarship

The Oswald Scholarship in Physics


Endowed by UMN CSE alumnus, Albert G. Oswald, this scholarship is intended to recognize outstanding research by an undergraduate student and support their ongoing research efforts.

Nina Bielinski

Bielinski wins 2018 Oswald Scholarship

Nina Bielinski won the 2018 Oswald Scholarship in Physics. Bielinski is originally from Saint Paul, Minnesota. Her plan for the award money is to purchase equipment for her thesis project on high-temperature superconducting cuprates using torque magnetometry. Bielinski studies condensed matter physics with Professor Martin Greven.

Ryan Quinn

Quin wins 2017 Oswald Scholarship

Ryan Quinn won the 2017 Oswald Scholarship. He is from Arlington Heights, Illinois. He went to high school at Rolling Meadows High School. He plans to use the money to partially cover a ticket to CERN so that he can help get the group's current setup commissioned. His research is writing software for the prototype HGCAL detectors that are being constructed for the CMS experiment at CERN. His focus is on high energy physics.

Aaron Hamann

Aaron Hamann wins Oswald Award

Aaron Hamann received the 2016 Albert G. Oswald Scholarship in Physics.

Student Award RSS Feed