University of Minnesota
School of Physics & Astronomy
Home > About > News >

General News

Page: 1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  21  22  23  24  25  26  27  28  29  30  31  32  33  34  35  36  37  38  39  40  41  42  43  44  45  46  47  48  49  50  51  52  53  54  55  56  57 
GherghettaWeb Update 2015.jpg

Gherghetta receives Simons Fellowship

Professor Tony Gherghetta received the 2019 Simons Fellowship. The Simons Fellows program extends academic leaves from one term to a full year, enabling recipients to focus solely on research for the long periods often necessary for significant advances. Gherghetta is a theoretical physicist specializing in physics beyond the standard model. More »


Mandic receives Distinguished McKnight Professorship

Professor Vuk Mandic of the School of Physics and Astronomy has been selected as a 2019 Distinguished McKnight University Professor. The award recognizes Mandic's research in the field of experimental cosmology and astrophysics. Mandic will receive a grant of $120,000 to be used over a five year period. More »


Knauber wins Ovshinsky Award

Brenda Knauber, a physics Ph.D. candidate in Professor James Kakalios’s research group, has been selected for an Ovshinsky Student Travel Award to present her research at the 2019 March American Physical Society’s (APS) Meeting in Boston, Massachusetts. More »

Vlad Pribiag

Minnesota physicists receive grant to develop quantum computing

Professors Vlad Pribiag and Paul Crowell from the School of Physics and Astronomy are part of a group that will receive a $2.25 million grant from the U.S. Department of Energy to develop materials and device knowledge for creating quantum computing. More »


Skillman elected as APS Fellow

Professor Evan Skillman was elected a 2018 Fellow of the American Physical Society. He was cited for his contributions to "observational constraints on the primordial helium abundance and significant contributions to understanding the chemical evolution of galaxies." More »

Tales to Astonish #13

Kakalios on Backstory Pod Cast

Professor James Kakalios appeared on the Public Radio podcast podcast Backstory. The episode "In the Shadow of the Mushroom Cloud" featured a series of stories about the history of the atomic age. Kakalios was interviewed for a segment on way that the atomic bomb and atomic power influenced the popular imagination by becoming an important plot point in comic books. More »


Shklovskii awarded 2019 Buckley Prize

Professor Boris Shklovskii of the School of Physics and Astronomy and William I. Fine Theoretical Physics Institute was jointly awarded the Oliver E. Buckley Prize in Condensed Matter Physics. The prize recognizes his "pioneering research in the physics
of disordered materials and hopping conductivity.” More »

Julie Vievering

Vievering wins Doherty Award

Julie Vievering received the 2017-2018 Sharon L. Doherty Award. The award honors University students who have demonstrated outstanding volunteer service concerning women's issues on campus or in the broader community.

Andrey Chubukov

Chubukov Awarded Bardeen Prize

FTPI Professor Andrey Chubukov was a winner of the 2018 John Bardeen Prize for his "seminal contributions to the theory of unconventional superconductivity, including applications to the iron-based superconductors." The prize was given at the International Conference on the Materials and Mechanisms of Superconductivity. More »

Parker Solar Probe

Solar probe to provide closest-ever observations of a star

The Parker Solar Probe launched on August 12, 2018 will travel closer to the surface of the Sun than any previous spacecraft. Space physicist from the School contributed to the design and build of instruments on the probe. More »

News RSS Feed