University of Minnesota
School of Physics & Astronomy
Dan Dahlberg
< >

Physicists at the University of Minnesota are using very small, magnetic particles to answer questions in fundamental physics that have broad reaching implications in understanding some difficult real-world problems.


Wick wins Reichert Award

Kurt Wick

Senior Scientist, Kurt Wick will receive the American Physical Society 2017 Jonathan F. Reichert and Barbara Wolff-Reichert Award for Excellence in Advanced Laboratory Instruction. Wick has guided the Methods of Experimental Physics courses in the School of Physics and Astronomy for thirty years. More »

Olive to receive Bethe Prize

Keith Olive

Professor Keith Olive was named as the recipient of the 2018 Hans A. Bethe Prize from the American Physical Society (APS). Olive received the prize for his research across a number of disciplines including nuclear physics, particle physics, theoretical and observational astrophysics, and cosmology, and Big Ban nucleosynthesis and the properties of Dark Matter. More »

LIGO detects gravitational waves from Neutron Star collision

An artist's rendering of the collision of two neutron stars

For the first time, physicists have detected gravitational waves from the collision of two neutron stars. The observation was made by LIGO, the Laser Interferometer Gravitational-Wave Observatory, a collaborative project with over one thousand researchers from more than twenty countries, including the University of Minnesota. More »

Fernandes named APS Fellow

Rafael Fernandes

Associate Professor Rafael Fernandes was named a Fellow of the American Physical Society for "pioneering works on nematic order and nematic fluctuations in iron-based superconductors and other strongly correlated materials." More »

Vuk Mandic named APS Fellow

Vuk Mandic

Professor Vuk Mandic has been named a Fellow of the American Physical Society for "significant contributions to searches for primordial gravitational waves using LIGO data and for pioneering studies of the ultimate limits to low frequency sensitivity of ground-based gravitational-wave detectors." More »


Tuesday, October 24th
12:20 pm:
Space Physics Seminar in Tate 301-20
There will be no seminar this week. Please attend Stuart Bale's MIFA Colloquium.
Wednesday, October 25th
1:25 pm:
Prospects for an optical link to superconducting qubits via engineered micromechanical motion —
Cindy Regal, University of Colorado-Boulder
3:35 pm:
The Mu2e Experiment —
Doug Glenzinski, Fermilab
4:30 pm:
CM Journal Club in Tate 201-20
Machine Learning circumvents sign problem in Quantum Monte Carlo —
Ruiqi Xing
Thursday, October 26th
10:10 am:
Biophysics Seminar in 120 PAN
To be announced. —
Hao Wu, University of Minnesota
10:30 am:
Thesis Defense in 110 PAN
Quantum Hall stripes under in-plane magnetic fields —
Qianhui Shi, University of Minnesota
This is the public portion of Ms. Shi's thesis defense. Her advisor is Michael Zudov.
12:05 pm:
Micaela Bagley
3:35 pm:
Interferometry in a Strong Light —
Cindy Regal, University of Colorado-Boulder
Friday, October 27th
10:10 am:
Nuclear Physics Seminar in Tate 301-20
There will be no seminar this week.
12:20 pm:
Superconductivity in NdxSr1-xTiO3 Thin Films —
Yilikal Ayino, University of Minnesota
Subscribe to Physics Calendar RSS feed | Full Calendar »