University of Minnesota
School of Physics & Astronomy
Professor Robert Lysak
< >

The aurora borealis, or Northern Lights have long been a subject of fascination in folklore and for those of us lucky enough to see them in northern latitudes. Professor Bob Lysak is a theoretician who has been studying the unique physics of aurora since the 1970’s. The classic model of the Aurora is that electrons trapped in the Earth’s magnetosphere are accelerated by quasi-static electric fields that form parallel to the Earth’s magnetic field and cause the light display.


Crowell receives Taylor Teaching Award

Paul Crowell

Professor Paul Crowell of the School of Physics and Astronomy received the 2018 George W. Taylor Distinguished Teaching Award from the College of Science and Engineering. Crowell will receive $3,000 to be used for professional development in teaching and research. More »

Kakalios Receives Taylor Service Award

James Kakalios

Professor James Kakalios of the School of Physics and Astronomy received the 2018 George W. Taylor Award for Distinguished Service. Kakalios will receive $3,000 to be used for professional development in teaching and research. More »

Greven named McKnight Professor

Martin Greven

Professor Martin Greven of the School of Physics and Astronomy has been selected as a Distinguished McKnight University Professor. The award recognizes Greven's research in the field of experimental condensed matter physics. Greven will receive a grant of $100,000 to be used over a five year period. More »

Dahlberg receives education award

Dan Dahlberg

Professor Dan Dahlberg of the School of Physics and Astronomy will receive the 2017-2018 Award for Outstanding Contributions to Graduate and Professional Education by the University. Recipients of the award are made members of the University's Academy of Distinguished Teachers and are conferred with the title of "Distinguished University Teacher." Dahlberg will also receive a $15,000 award to go toward toward research support. More »

SPS Named Outstanding Chapter

Levi Walls at the Family Fun Fair outreach event

The School's chapter of the Society of Physics Students (SPS) was named "Outstanding Chapter" by the national organization. Chapter President Levi Walls said that "despite being confined to Shepherd Labs due to the Tate remodel, SPS was able to increase the number of opportunities for members to volunteer within the department and community at large." More »


Friday, April 27th
10:10 am:
Nuclear Physics Seminar in Tate 201-20
To be announced.
12:20 pm:
Signatures of unusual edge physics in the specific heat of Kitaev spin liquids —
Kexin Feng, University of Minnesota
12:30 pm:
Inflation Ends, What’s next ? —
Mustafa Amin (Rice U)
2:00 pm:
Magnetic correlations in the vicinity of the superconducting state in CrAs and MnP —
Masaaki Matsuda, ORNL
Please note time and date change for this seminar. This week only.
2:30 pm:
The Large Binocular Telescope Observatory —
Dr. Christian Veillet, Large Binocula Telescope Observatory (LBTO)
3:35 pm:
"How to Acquire Number Concepts: A New Puzzle (With Stewart Shapiro and Eric Snyder)" —
Richard Samuels, Department of Philosophy, The Ohio State University
Refreshments served at 3:15 p.m.
3:35 pm:
How We Understand Mathematics —
Dr. Sashank Varma, Department of Educational Psychology, University of Minnesota
4:40 pm:
Please note: Carolyn Bishoff's workshop rescheduled to next week
Monday, April 30th
12:15 pm:
Chiral Dark Sectors, Neutrino Masses, and Dark Matter —
Andre Luiz De Gouvea, Northwestern
Tuesday, May 1st
12:20 pm:
Space Physics Seminar in Tate 301-20
To be announced.
Subscribe to Physics Calendar RSS feed | Full Calendar »