University of Minnesota
School of Physics & Astronomy
Home > About > News >

General News

Page: 1  2  3  4 
Chris Phenicie

Phenicie wins SPS Leadership award

Chris Phenicie has received an Society of Physics Students (SPS) Leadership Award. The award recognizes SPS members with high scholarship performance both in physics and overall studies and the exhibition of the potential and intention for continued scholastic development in physics. Phenicie is the President of the University SPS chapter. The award in the amount of $2000 was funded by alumni of Sigma Pi Sigma.

Abell 3827 Image.jpg

Did Dark Matter Just Get A Little Less Mysterious?

Using Hubble Space Telescope images, a team of astronomers studied a nearby cluster of galaxies that shows an unusually dense concentration of bright galaxies in its center. More »

Outstanding TA Awards

Nominations are now being accepted for the Outstanding TA Awards. Nominations should be submitted via electronic form by Monday, April 13, 2015.

Chris Nolting

Nolting wins NSF Fellowship

Chris Nolting, a first year graduate student in astrophysics has been awarded a National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship. The award is for three years of support. Nolting's fellowship was one of 11 awarded to the College of Science and Engineering this year. More »

Vincent Noireaux

Noireaux wins prestigious grant for international research collaboration

School of Physics and Astronomy Professor Vincent Noireaux has received a program grant from the Human Frontiers Science Program Organization (HFSPO). Noireaux is the Principal Investigator of the grant for his research in biological physics which will be shared with his co-PI’s Albert Libchaber, Rockefeller University, (New York) Yusuke Maeda, Kyushu University, (Japan), and Albrecht Ott, Universität des Saarlandes (Germany). The whole team will share a total of $400,000 per year for three years. More »

Cynthia Cattell

Cattell part of successful clinical trial

When other treatments for her aggressive B-cell lymphoma had failed, physics professor Cynthia Cattell, Ph.D., became one of the first to benefit from the U-developed drug DT2219 as part of a clinical trial at the University of Minnesota.

Erwin Marquit

Marquit Memorial Service

There will be a memorial service for the late Professor Erwin Marquit on Saturday, June 13, 2015 from 11:00 - 1:00 p.m. at the First Unitarian Society in Minneapolis located at 900 Mount Curve Avenue. More »

Chick Woodward

Woodward elected Vice President of AAS

Professor Charles "Chick" Woodward was elected Vice President of the American Astronomical Society. The American Astronomical Society (AAS) is the major organization of professional astronomers in North America.

Fiona Burnell

Burnell Receives Sloan Fellowship

Fiona Burnell selected as a 2015 Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellow in Physics. Burnell is one of 126 early-career scholars or "rising stars" to receive a $50,000 grant this year. More »

Three men, two younger, one older, the older one is explaining a mettalic sphere and one of the younger ones is holding a stick up to the sphere

MN PhysTEC Program in 5+ Club

The Physics Teacher Education Coalition (PhysTEC) recently announced the initial inductees into “The 5+ Club,” a group of institutions that has graduated five or more physics teachers in a given year. Last year, the School of Physics and Astronomy graduated seven physics majors who are obtaining their high school physics teaching license. The great majority of institutions graduate less than two physics teachers a year, and the most common number of graduates is zero. More »

News RSS Feed