University of Minnesota
School of Physics & Astronomy
Home > About > News > News >

General News

Vainshtein to Receive Pomeranchuk Prize


School of Physics and Astronomy Professor Arkady Vainshtein will receive the 2005 Pomeranchuk Prize in theoretical physics.

Vainshtein will share the prize with his collaborator, Iosif Khriplovich of the Budker Institute for Nuclear Physics in Novosibirsk, Russia. The prize committee cited Vainshtein and Khriplovich for their "outstanding contribution to the understanding the properties of the standart model, especially for illuminating work on weak and strong interaction of quarks."

The Pomeranchuk Prize has been awarded annually since 1998 by the A.I. Alikhanov Institute for Theoretical and Experimental Physics in Moscow, Russia. The Prize commemorates the life and work of physicist Isaak Yakovlevich Pomeranchuk (1913 - 1966). Past winners include S. Drell, J. D. Bjorken, T. Regge, and F. Dyson.