University of Minnesota
School of Physics & Astronomy
Home > About > News >

Student Award

Page: 1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  21  22  23  24  25  26  27  28  29  30  31 
Kali Ask

2015 Kalil Ask

Kali Ask won the 2015 Outstanding T. A. Award.

2015 Kyle Crocker

Kyle Crocker won the 2015 J. Morris Blair Scholarship. His research focuses on gravitational wave detection and his advisor is Professor Vuk Mandic. He plans to use the monetary part of my award to help pay for school. He is originally from Chippewa Falls, WI.

Adam Peterson

2015 Adam Peterson

Adam Peterson won the 2015 Robert O. Pepin Fellowship. Adam's advisor is Professor Shifman. HIs research has focused on the low energy dynamics of topological strings. Such strings occur in many different fields of physics. In particular, they've explored the dynamics of topological strings occurring in superfluid Helium 3, superconductivity, liquid crystals, Yang Mills theories, and supersymmetry.He plans to use the fellowship to further my research on topological strings. He is originally from Bloomington, MN.

2015 Luke Molacek

Luke Molacek won the 2015 Edmond G. Franklin Scholarship. The focus of his research is on determining the best way to filter out false data in a photo-multiplier tube that is a part of the Large Hadron Collider at CERN. His advisor is Jeremiah Mans. He plans to use the money from this award to pay my tuition in the fall. He is originally from Maple Grove, MN.

Chris Phenicie

2015 Chris Phenicie

Chris Phenicie won the 2015 A. O. C. Nier Undergraduate Scholarship in Physics. Chris' research is currently with Russell Holmes in the Material Science department, focusing on the crystallization of organic semiconductors with future applications to solar cells. The research mostly consists of depositing thin films of newly developed materials and using a microscope to image them as they crystallize.He plans to put the money toward rent, and (with luck) travel for grad school abroad. He is originally from Burnsville, MN.

D'ann Barker

2015 D'Ann Barker

D'ann Barker won the 2015 Outstanding T. A. Award.

Joel Therneau

2015 Joel Therneau

Joel Therneau won the 2015 Edmond G. Franklin Scholarship. Joel's research involves investigating damage to optical thin films under high intensity laser irradiation. His adviser is Prof. Joseph Talghader. He plans to use the scholarship to pay for tuition. He is originally from Rochester, MN.

David Bosch

2015 David Bosch

David Bosch won the 2015 Jeffrey Basford Award. He will be studying spin transport in ferromagnetic and semiconducting materials under my research adviser Paul Crowell.David plans to use the monetary part of his award to help pay for tuition expenses. He is originally from Maple Grove, Minnesota.

Brendon Jones

2015 Brendon Jones

Brendon Jones won the 2015 Edmond G. Franklin Scholarship. Brendon will be doing research with professor Kakalios next year, dealing with disordered systems. He plans to use the scholarship to pay his tuition in his senior year. He is originally from Lakeville Minnesota.

Kelly Stifler

2015 Kelly Stifter

Kelly Stifter won the 2015 Hagstrum Award. Her research is the electronics for and commissioning of a new Cherenkov radiation detector for the CMS experiment at CERN. My advisor is Roger Rusack. She will use the monetary part of the award will be used to help with her move to California to go to graduate school at Stanford. She is originally from Shoreview, MN.

Student Award RSS Feed