University of Minnesota
School of Physics & Astronomy
Home > About > News >

Student Award

Page: 1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  21  22  23  24  25  26  27  28  29  30  31 
Barun Dhar

2011 Barun Dhar

Barun Dhar research involves modelling the structural variations of light and dark matter in galaxies and clusters of galaxies and thereby gaining insights on their formation and evolution history. His advisor is Liliya Williams (in Astronomy). He is originally from Mumbai, India.

Ryo Namba

2012 Ryo Namba

Ryo Namba is in Marco Peloso's research group and works on particle cosmology, especially on the early universe. He is originally from Okayama, Japan.

Meng-ru Wu

2012 Meng-ru Wu

Meng-ru Wu studies theoretical nuclear physics under Yong-Zhong Qian. His research focuses on how neutrinos evolve their flavors on the way out from the core of supernovae and the related physical consequences. He plans to use the award to buy a laptop or attend some physics conferences. He is originally from Kaohsiung, Taiwan.

Mitchell Ambrose

2012 Mitchel Ambrose

Mitchel Ambrose won the 2012 Edmond G. Franklin Scholarship. He is currently working with Professor Roger Rusack on the development of a direction-sensitive Cerenkov detector for beam monitoring applications in the Large Hadron Collider. He will be traveling to CERN this summer to continue this research.He plans to use the scholarship money to help finance my final year of undergraduate education. He is originally from Inver Grove Heights, MN.

Mike Schecter

2012 Mike Schecter

Mike Schechter won the 2012 Robert Pepin Fellowship. The focus of his research is the field of ultracold atomic physics, with emphasis on non-equilibrium quantum gases and impurity problems in one dimension. His work also extends to dynamics of disordered superconductors, with a focus on recently discovered iron-based superconductors and collective modes in multiband superconductors. His adviser is Alex Kamenev. Schecter plans to use the money for travel expenses to summer school in France and workshops in Italy. He is originally from Flint, Michigan.

Ilana Percher

2012 Ilana Percher

Ilana Percher won a 2012 Outstanding TA Award. She works with Allen Goldman, studying the effect of a metallic plane embedded in a semiconductor substrate has on the superconductivity of thin films and nanowires on top of the substrate. She plans to put the award money toward visiting my sister in India next year. Percher is originally from New Jersey.

Brandon Bergerud

2012 Brandon Bergerud

Brandon Bergerud won the 2012 Edmond Franklin Scholarship. He works with Lawrence Rudnick on Giant Radio Haloes. One project will examine the findings of S. Brown regarding the bimodality of Giant Radio Haloes by using a sample not accessible with their survey. My second project will involve analyzing non-polarized emission from individual clusters using the GALFACTS survey. Since the survey is in a rudimentary stage at the moment, he will also be involved in developing new analysis techniques. Bergerud plans to use the money to help pay for tuition. He is originally from Fergus Falls, MN.

Anthony Kremin

2012 Anthony Kremin

Anthony Kremin won the 2012 Edmond Franklin Scholarship. His advisor is Vuk Mandic on the Laser Interferometer Gravitational-Wave Observatories (LIGO) experiment. He is currently studying the broader range of “injected” (man-made) signals. In addition, he is working on a diagnostic tool meant to analyze and map short-duration events more effectively by implementing new functions. He plans to use the scholarship for tuition next year. He is originally from Alexandria and Rogers, Minnesota.

Chelsea Dorow

2012 Chelsea Dorow

Chelsea Dorow won the 2012 Jeffrey Basford Scholarship. She does research in condensed matter physics with Martin Greven, focusing on crystal growth and neutron scattering studies of high-temperature superconductors. She also working in particle physics on background simulations and analysis for the CDMS experiment with Priscilla Cushman. She plans to use the scholarship to help pay for tuition. Dorow is originally from Duluth, Minnesota.

Noah Trebesch

2012 Noah Trebesch

Noah Trebesch won the 2012 St. Cyr Scholarship for Summer Research. Noah works with Yiannis Kaznessis of the Chemical Engineering and Materials Science Department on research dealing with solving the problem of fighting antibiotic-resistant strains of bacteria. His project will model a series of interactions between lactic acid bacteria, antimicrobial peptides, and pathogenic bacteria using software that Professor Kaznessis's research team has developed previously. He plans to use the scholarship to pay for tuition and textbooks. He is originally from Woodbury, Minnesota.

Student Award RSS Feed