University of Minnesota
School of Physics & Astronomy
Home > People >

Allen Goldman

PAN 226 (office), 624-6062
PAN 20, 30 (lab)
goldman @ •


INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY DISTINGUISHED PROFESSOR 1992-2008; Head, School of Physics and Astronomy, 1996-2009; Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellow, 1966-70; AAAS Fellow, 1982; APS Fellow, 1984; FRITZ LONDON MEMORIAL PRIZE, 2002; NATIONAL ACADEMY OF SCIENCES, 2007; UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA REGENTS PROFESSOR, 2008-; Outstanding Contributions to Graduate Education, 2012; OLIVER BUCKLEY CONDENSED MATTER PHYSICS PRIZE (APS), 2015.

Associate Editor, Reviews of Modern Physics, 1999- 2005, Co-Organizer NSF Superconductivity Summer School, July 2000, Boulder Colorado, Board Member, NSF Boulder Summer School, 2000- present; Executive Board, APS, 2001-2003; Valley Prize Committee, APS, Chair, 2001; Lillienfeld Prize Committee, APS, 2002-2006, chair 2004; DOE Workshop on Capacitive Charging of Materials, 2004; APS-AAPT Task Force on Graduate Education, 2004-2005; Program Chair, 24th International Conference on Low Temperature Physics, 2004–2005; Wolf Prize Committee 2004; London Prize Committee 2005-2011, chair 2007-2008; APS Task Force on Ethics Education, Chair, 2005-2006; Co-editor, Proceedings of the 24th International Conference on Low Temperature Physics, 2005-2006; Vice Chair- to Chair to Past Chair, Division of Condensed Matter Physics, APS, 2006-10, EU Panel on Nanotechnology, 2006, 2008; NSERC Physics Panel, 2009-2012: Chair Elect to Past Chair, Physics Section of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, 2011-2014; Member Basic Energy Sciences Advisory Committee of the DOE, 2011-2013; Member, Condensed Matter and Materials Physics Committee, NAS, 2012-2015: Apker Award Committee (APS), 2013-2015.

Summary of Interests
Properties of superconductors and selected magnetic materials in the configuration of thin films.

About My Work

Superconductivity, primarily in the configuration of thin films, with emphasis on the effects of disorder and dimensional constraints. This work includes studies of the Josephson effect, of quantum size effects, electronic localization, topological phase transitions, superconductor- insulator transitions in superconducting systems. Other interests are the study of magnetic superconductors and heavy fermion materials, the investigation of the properties of high-Tc superconductors and magnetic oxide materials, and the electrostatic modification of novel materials.

Advisees and Collaborators

Nicholas Lewellyn, Research Assistant
Ilana Percher, Research Assistant

Joseph Sobek, Research Assistant

Boyi Yang, Research Assistant
Javier Garcia-Barriocanal, CARFAC Staff and Collaborator
Aviad Frydman, Professor, Bar Ilan University, Collaborator

Selected Publications

A. M. Perez-Munoz, P. Schio, R. Poloni, A. Fernandez-Martinez, A. Rivera Calzada, J. C. Cezer, E. Salas, G. Castro, C. Leon, J. Kinney, J. Garcia-Barriocanal, J. Santamaria, and A. M. Goldman, “In-operando evidence of deoxygenation in ionic liquid gating of YBa 2 Cu 3 O 7-X ,", Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America 114, 215 (2017) [abstract]

J. Nelson, K. V. Reich, B. I. Shklovskii, and A. M. Goldman, “Hopping Conduction via Ionic Liquid Induced Silicon Surface States,”, Phys. Rev. B. 92, 085424 (2015). [abstract]

J. Kinney, J. Garcia-Barriocanal, and A. M. Goldman,, “Homes scaling in ionic liquid gate La 2 CuO 4+x thin films,”, Phys. Rev. B 92, 100505(R) (2015). [abstract]

Terence M. Bretz-Sullivan and A. M. Goldman, “Magnetic Field Tuned Re-entrant Superconductivity in Non-Equilibrium Aluminum Nanowires”, Physical Review B (2016).

JJ Nelson and A. M. Goldman, “Metallic state of low-mobility silicon at high carrier density induced by an ionic liquid”, Phys. Rev. B 91, 241304(R) (2015)

JJ Nelson and A. M. Goldman, “Thin Film Cryogenic Thermometers Defined with Optical Lithography for Thermomagnetic Measurements on Films”, Rev. Sci. Instrum. 86, 053902 (2015)

Yen-Hsiang Lin, J. Nelson, and A. M. Goldman, “Superconductivity of very thin films: The superconductor–insulator transition”, Physica C 514, 130 (2015). (Special Issue: Superconducting Materials-Conventional, Unconventional and Undetermined)

Yu Chen, Yen-Hsiang Lin, Stephen Snyder, Allen M. Goldman, Alex Kamenev, “Dissipative superconducting state of non-equilibrium nanowires”, Nature Physics 10, 567 (2014)

A. M. Goldman, “Electrostatic Gating of Ultrathin Films”, Annual Review of Materials Research 44, 45 (2013)

Yeonbae Lee, Aviad Frydman, Tianran Chen, Brian Skinner, and A. M. Goldman, “Electrostatic Tuning of the Properties of Disordered Indium Oxide Films near the Superconductor-Insulator Transition”, Phys. Rev. B 88, 024509 (2013)

S. D. Snyder, T. Dunn, M. J. Erickson, J. Kinney, Yeonbae Lee, J. Nelson, and A. M. Goldman, “High-resistance state of phase coherent nanoscale thin-film Al superconducting nanorings in magnetic fields”, Phys. Rev. B, 87, 144503 (2013)

J. Garcia-Barriocanal, A Kobrinskii, X. Leng, J. Kinney, B. Yang, and A. M. Goldman, “Electronically driven superconductor-insulator transition in electrostatically doped La2CuO4+5 thin films”, Phys. Rev. B 87 024509 (2013)

Yen-Hsiang Lin, J. Nelson and A. M. Goldman, “Suppression of the Berezinskii-Kosterlitz-Thouless Transition in 2D Superconductors by Macroscopic Quantum Tunneling”, Phys. Rev. Lett. 109, 017002 (2012)

Xiang Leng, Javier Garcia-Barriocanal, Boyi Yang, Yeonbae Lee, and A. M. Goldman, “Indications of an Electronic Phase Transition in 2D YBa2Cu3O7-x Induced by Electrostatic Doping”, Phys. Rev.. Lett. 108, 067004 (2012)

A. M. Goldman, “The Berezinskii-Kosterlitz-Thouless Transition in Superconductors”, in 40 Years of Berezinskii-Kosterllitz-Thouless Theory, edited by Jorge V. Jose, (World Scientific, Singapore, 2013) 135-161

Xiang Leng, Javier Garcia-Barriocanal, Shameek Bose, Yeonbae Lee and A. M. Goldman, “Electrostatic Control of the Evolution from a Superconducting Phase to an Insulating Phase in Ultrathin Films of YBa2Cu3O7-x, Phys. Rev. Lett. 107, 027001 (2011)


A.B., Chemistry and Physics, Harvard University, 1958.
Ph.D., Physics, Stanford University, 1965.