University of Minnesota
School of Physics & Astronomy
Home > About > News >

General News

Page: 1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  21  22  23  24  25  26  27  28  29  30  31  32  33  34  35  36  37  38  39  40  41  42  43  44  45  46  47  48  49  50  51  52  53  54  55  56  57 
Roger Blandford

Blandford to deliver 2011 Misel

Professor Roger Blandford, Stanford University, will deliver the 2011 Misel Family Lecture, "The Dark Side of the Universe," at 7:00 p.m. on Tuesday, September 20th in the McNamara Alumni Center, Memorial Hall. More »


University Establishes Minnesota Institute for Astrophysics

Friday, July 1 marks the creation of the Minnesota Institute for Astrophysics (MIfA). The Institute brings together 20 faculty members of the School of Physics and Astronomy conducting research in astronomy, astrophysics, cosmology, planetary science, and space science under a single banner. As an institute within the School, the MIfA will replace the current Department of Astronomy in administering the University's undergraduate and graduate programs in astrophysics. More »

Student Award Winners

2011 Scholarship and fellowship awards

The 2011 student awards for scholarship and fellowships are as follows: Alex Ditter won the Alfred O.C. Nier Scholarship, Nicholas Smith won the Harry and Viola St. Cyr Scholarship, Matthew Epland won the Jeffrey Basford Scholarship. More »

Ken Heller

Heller wins Taylor Award

School of Physics and Astronomy Professor Ken Heller won the 2011 George W. Taylor/CSE Alumni Society Award for Distinguished Teaching. Established in 1982, the Taylor/CSE Alumni Award for Distinguished Teaching recognizes outstanding contributions to undergraduate and/or graduate teaching.


Cattell wins Taylor Award

School of Physics and Astronomy Professor Cindy Cattell has won the 2011 George W. Taylor Award for Distinguished Service. Established in 1982, the Taylor Award for Distinguished Service recognizes outstanding service to the University and voluntary public service to governmental or other public groups.

Student poster session

The Methods of Experimental Physics II class will hold a poster session in and nearby Room 68 (basement) of Tate Lab of Physics from 11:15 am -- 12:15pm on Friday, May 6. Students, staff and faculty are invited to view class projects and talk to the students about their research.

Bob Lysak

Lysak elected AGU Fellow

Professor Bob Lysak of the School of Physics and Astronomy was selected as a 2011 Fellow of the American Geophysical Union (AGU).To be elected a Fellow of AGU is a special tribute for those who have made exceptional scientific contributions. Nominated Fellows must have attained acknowledged eminence in the Earth and space sciences. This designation is conferred upon not more than 0.1% of all AGU members in any given year. New Fellows are chosen by a Committee of Fellows.

Zichun Chen

Physics student wins Goldwater Scholarship

Zijun (Jimmy) Chen, a junior majoring in mathematics and physics in the College of Science and Engineering, has been named a 2011 Barry M. Goldwater Scholar. Chen plans to pursue a doctorate in condensed matter physics. Under the direction of professor E. D. Dahlberg, Chen has conducted research on a variety of projects at the Magnetic Microscopy Center, including water deformation due to diamagnetism, quantification of magnetic force microscopy and domain wall pinning in permalloy nanowires. More »


Goldman Chair-elect of AAAS Physics Section and appointed to BESAC

Professor Allen Goldman has been made Chair-elect of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) Physics Section. He has also been appointed to the Department of Energy's Basic Energy Science Advisory Committee(BESAC).


Physics student awarded medal for research

At its 217th semi-annual meeting held in Seattle this January, the American Astronomical Society (AAS) named Grant Remmen, a student in the University Honors Program and a triple major in astrophysics, physics, and mathematics, as a recipient of the Chambliss Astronomy Achievement Student Award. More »

News RSS Feed